February 16, 2021

66th Gasparilla Invitation Field Set

A nationally ranked field headlines the 66th Gasparilla Invitational that ascends on Tampa this week. Many of Florida's top players have found success in this invitational in the past and will look to do so again.

2021 Event & Links

The 2021 Gasparilla Invitational will be contested on February 18-20, 2021 at Palma Ceia Golf & Country Club.

History of Gasparilla Invitational & Palma Ceia Country Club

The Gasparilla Invitational dates back to 1932. In early years as a professional event, The Gasparilla Open offered the largest purse of any PGA Tournament in the United States. The event would crown World Golf Hall of Fame members, Paul Runyan and Walter Hagen as champions, and the 1935 victory by Walter Hagen was his last-ever professional victory.

After a lapse, the Gasparilla Invitational resumed in 1956, as a strictly amateur competition. Since then, the event has been on the schedule of numerous U.S. Amateur, U.S. Senior Amateur and U.S. Mid-Amateur champions, as well as top Mid-Amateurs gearing up for Walker Cup runs. Notable Champions include former U.S. Amateur champions and FSGA Hall of Fame Members, Bob Murphy (1967) and Buddy Alexander (1976), PGA Tour winner and Ryder Cup Captain, Hal Sutton (1981). Doug LaCrosse, a Palma Ceia member and past FSGA Amateur champion, won the 1991 and 2012 championships, having the most time lapsed between victories.

Both FSGA Hall of Fame member, Jack Veghte (1965, 1966, 1968, 1975 & 1978) and current PGA Tour Rules Official, Peter Dachisen (2002, 2005, 2006, 2009 & 2010) have captured the championship five times. Dachisen's 2005 performance set the single round (8-under 62) and overall (6-under 204) scoring record at the time. The single round still stands, while the overall scoring record fell in 2018, when Marc Dull captured the championship firing a 7-under 203.

Notable FSGA Champions in Field

  • Joe Alfieri - Four-time Amateur Player of the Year, two-time Mid-Amateur Stroke Play Champion, 2016 Public Links Champion, 2003 Florida Open Champion, 2001 Amateur Match Play Champion, 1999 Mid-Amateur Champion
  • Adam Armagost - 2020 FSGA Senior Amateur Champions, competed in 2019 U.S. Senior Amateur
  • Chip Brooke - 2016 Florida Mid-Amateur Champion & 2018 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Finalist
  • Daniel Debra - 2020 Forty & Over Champion
  • Marc Dull -  2018 Gasparilla Champion, 2018 Mid-Amateur Player of the Year, 2018 Mid-Amateur Champion, 2017 Amateur Player of the Year, 2017 Mid-Amateur Stroke Play Champion
  • Mike Finster - 2019 Gasparilla Champion, Qualified for four consecutive U.S. Senior Opens as an Amateur, 2016-2019, Florida Cup & Team Florida Southeastern Challenge Team Member
  • Devon Hopkins - 2019 Mid-Amateur Stroke Play Champion and Amateur Player of the Year, 2020 Florida Open Low Amateur
  • Jimmy Jones, Sr. - 2020 Gasparilla Senior Champion, 5-0 in 2019 SE Challenge Matches representing Team Florida
  • Richard Kerper - 2020 Senior Amateur Match Play Champion
  • Doug LaCrosse - Three-time Amateur Player of the Year, 1992 Amateur Champion, four-time Four-Ball Champion, 2013 Senior Player of the Year, Senior Amateur & Senior Match Play Champion, 2018 Super-Senior Amateur Champion & 2020 Florida Golf Hall of Fame Inductee
  • Joey Latowski - 2020 Mid-Amateur Champion and Mid-Amateur Player of the Year
  • Paul Royak - 2020 FSGA Senior Amateur Player of the Year
  • TJ Shuart - Two-Time FSGA Mid-Amateur Champion (2016 & 2018) & 2016 Amateur Match Play Champion
  • Jon Veneziano - 2005 & 2013 Mid-Amateur Champion and 2013 FSGA Player of the Year
  • Don Whittemore - 2012 Four-Ball Champion, 2014 Mid-Senior Four-Ball Champion, 2018 & 2019 Senior Four-Ball Champion

Notable USGA National Champions in Field

The 2021 Gasparilla Invitational boasts a strong national field represented by 37 states, with numerous state Mid-Amateur or Senior Amateur champions.

  • Matt Parziale - 2017 U.S. Mid-Amateur Champion & 2018 U.S. Open Low Amateur
  • Bob Royak - 2019 U.S.Senior Amateur Champion
  • Doug Hanzel - 2013 U.S. Senior Amateur Champion

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2021 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top